I’m passionate about serving dyslexic individuals and their families/teachers/villages in any way I can. Below are some of the resources that I have found helpful, and it is my most sincere wish that they might be of use to you, too. 

This list is by no means exhaustive. Not every resource here will be relevant to you and your journey.

I encourage you to take what might be useful and leave the rest.

Books & Film

The Adventures of Everyday Geniuses Series by Barbara Esham:
    · If You're So Smart, How Come You Can't Spell Mississippi?
    · Last to Finish: A Story About the Smartest Boy in Math Class
    · Free Association: Where My Mind Goes During Science Class
    · Mrs. Gorski, I think I Have the Wiggle Fidgets
    · Stacey Coolidge’s Fancy-Smancy Cursive Handwriting

Thank You, Mr. Falker by Patricia Polacco

The Dyslexia Empowerment Plan by Ben Foss

Proust and the Squid by Maryanne Wolf

The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain by Drs. Brock and Fernette Eide

Reading in the Brain: The New Science of How We Read by Stanislas Dehaene

Overcoming Dyslexia by Sally Shaywitz

Parenting a Struggling Reader by Susan L. Hall and Louisa C. Moats

Wrightslaw: From Emotions to Advocacy: The Special Education Survival Guide by Pam Wright and Pete Wright

Essentials of Assessment and Intervention by Nancy Mather & Barbara Wendling; John Wiley

Speech to Print: Language Essentials for Teachers (2nd edition) by Louisa Cook Moats

Embracing Dyslexia http://www.embracingdyslexia.com/

Journey Into Dyslexia http://www.hbo.com/documentaries/journey-into-dyslexia#/

The Big Picture: Rethinking Dyslexia http://thebigpicturemovie.com/


Organizations & People

 

Real Spelling http://www.realspelling.fr/Welcome_to_Real_Spelling/Choose-New.html

Gina Cooke https://linguisteducatorexchange.com

Online Etymology Dictionary (for real one of the best things ever) http://www.etymonline.com/index.php

Word Works Kingston http://www.wordworkskingston.com/WordWorks/Home.html

LIV(E) https://languageinnerviews.com/

H.E.L.P. www.helpadd.com

Decoding Dyslexia www.decodingdyslexia.org

Decoding Dyslexia Oregon www.decodingdyslexiaor.org

Forster Fulop http://forsterfulop.com

Wiscarson Law http://wiscarsonlaw.com

Dyslexic Advantage http://www.dyslexicadvantage.org

Reading Rockets http://www.readingrockets.org

Understood https://www.understood.org/en

The Dyslexia Training Institute http://www.dyslexiatraininginstitute.org

Making Math Real® www.makingmathreal.org

National Center for Learning Disabilities http://www.ncld.org/

International Dyslexia Association http://www.interdys.org/

The Yale Center for Dyslexia and Creativity http://dyslexia.yale.edu/

Eye to Eye http://eyetoeyenational.org/

Headstrong Nation http://headstrongnation.org/

Learning Ally www.learningally.org

Bookshare www.bookshare.org

Elisheva Schwartz http://www.elishevaschwartz.com

New Leaves Clinic https://newleavesclinic.com/

Executive Functioning Success http://executivefunctioningsuccess.com

Successful Learning Educational Services, LLC https://successfullrng.com

Wrightslaw Special Education Law and Advocacy www.wrightslaw.com

Oregon Branch of International Dyslexia Assoc. www.orbida.org

Learning Disabilities Association www.ldanatl.org

National Reading Panel Report www.nationalreadingpanel.org

ADDitude http://www.additudemag.com

CHADD http://www.chadd.org

Dr. Edward Hallowell http://www.drhallowell.com   


Technology Tools


If you are new to assistive technology and want to get started helping yourself, your child or your student, I highly recommend:

http://headstrongnation.org/adults/tools

Ben Foss will show you how to turn on assistive technology features that may be built into your computer or device. Ben Foss is super rad.

I also highly recommend ReadSpeaker.  Below is a short description from their fully accessible website:

ReadSpeaker® is the worldwide leader in online text to speech. In 1999, ReadSpeaker pioneered the first-ever speech-enabling solution for websites followed by the first web-based platform for producing digital talking books. Today, the company’s text-to-speech and document viewing services are used by thousands of websites/mobile apps and millions of users worldwide every month. ReadSpeaker speech-enables content on the fly in 40+ languages and 100+ voices. The company provides a portfolio of text-to-speech and document viewing solutions for websites, mobile sites, mobile apps, connected devices, digital books, e-learning materials, documents and forms. More than 10,000 corporate, media, government, and nonprofit customers around the world use the company’s text-to-speech and document viewing solutions.

http://www.readspeaker.com

Audiobooks: Tumble Books www.tumblebooks.com
PPS & Multnomah County Library have subscriptions you can access for free, excellent resource for K-3 especially.

Audiobooks: Learning Ally www.learningally.org

Audiobooks: Bookshare www.bookshare.org

Co:Writer http://donjohnston.com/cowriter/#.Uufk7DfTnIU

Livescribe Pen http://www.livescribe.com/en-us/